The home stretch

IMG-20140302-00163

Well I for one was feeling rested and relaxed following our lovely three day sojourn down south to Quindalup over the long weekend … that is, until around 6:30 am this morning, when I checked in at work, processed the weekend’s emails and wrote out a list of the day’s tasks.  At work, I make sub-lists of my ‘master’ to do list, sometimes on a daily, weekly or several-hourly basis.  The busier I become, the more lists I make, and the more neurotically neat and tidy my desk becomes.  I make piles of papers, paperclip them together, and then arrange them in neat rows.  I set myself colour-coded calendar reminders to think of things, to complete tasks, to follow up, to prepare, to telephone, to meet, to collect.  I check, recheck and then check again every email recipient, sentence, calculation and piece of advice. It seems the more that my brain is working through, the less it can process outside of those urgent tasks and the more my organisational skills kick into gear to see me through to a calmer period.  Not long now, until the end of the month, the end of a series of back-to-back major tasks, the beginning of a new professional year and a time to reflect, learn and plan again for the future.

IMG-20140302-00162

2

IMG-20140301-00161

Images taken down south, by me and my love.

Comment

